For over 210 years our quaint little shop has graced the neighborhood known locally as “Taylor City”.
Taylor City comprises two states, (Maine and New Hampshire), 2 counties, (York county on the Maine side, and Carroll in New Hampshire), and of course two towns, (Effingham, NH on one side of the road, and Parsonsfield, ME on the other.
Cloverleaf Farm has a rich history that dates back to the late 18th century.
It all started in the summer of 1790 when Benjamin Taylor bought the land for 5 chillings. In those days the farm was well over 70 acres. Benjamin bought many parcels of land that summer and today most remain in the Taylor family.
In the summer of 1790, Benjamin Taylor bought our land for 5 chillings. Our shop, which was built around 1790, is a cape style and was probably built as the main house. At some point in the next few years a 35 x 70 hay barn was built. We are still researching exact dates and history between 1790 and 1822.
The main house was built in the Colonial style in 1822, or so we have been told. We think that the house built much earlier considering the original building was built around 1790. An addition that attached the 1790 building to the 1822 building (it is now the kitchen) was put on before 1914. We still haven't been able to pin point a date, but we have pictures around WWI, and the outside kitchen door does exist. We think it might have either been a summer kitchen, or a shed because of the way it was built.
Cloverleaf Farm, in the early years, was a hay farm. The barn had cows, and was filled to the rafters (the barn has 3 floors) with hay. Some of the old hay still hangs down between the cracks.
Over the years the farm changed to serve the needs of the community. During WWI it served as a tack and leather shop. We have been told at one point it was a basket shop, but no one seems to know the time frame.
Supposedly, during prohibition, what is now our quaint little herb and farm stand shop was actually a rum shop.
Throughout the 1930’s and 1940’s our barn served as a local summer theater. One of neighbors still remembers acting in some of the plays and has told us several stories of those days. Her stories are always a pleasure to hear.
During the 1950’s it became an upholstery shop. When the gentlemen retired from railroad work, he opened a furniture and upholstery shop, and continued in his fathers line of work. The tacks are still in the floor to prove it.
At one point local bean suppers were served for the neighbors. That would explain the old 3-seater outhouse that still graces the back room of our shop.
Cloverleaf Farm has had many generations walk through the house and fields. It has a long and rich history, and we are proud to be a part of it.